Battery Road, Thamesmead, London SE28 0JN

020 8855 2470

information@discovery.greenwich.sch.uk

 

Attendance

All pupils are expected to be in school, on time, unless they are too unwell, in which case we expect you to telephone the school to let us know the specific reason for absence, or they have an appointment, for which we expect a copy of the letter or card for the file from the doctor or hospital. We do not condone parents taking their children out of school for term time holidays unless it is an absolute emergency. Any term time absence must be requested before the time is taken on the appropriate form from the school office and the headteacher will decide if the absence will be authorised and inform you in writing. Children will be asked to complete work during this time so they do not fall behind in their learning.

Emergency closure policy

If for any reason we have to close the school as an emergency, a notice will be posted on the website under Newsflash on the right hand side, and a text message will be sent to parents saying the school is closed and referring you to the website. We do not make this decision lightly as we realise how disruptive it is for parents, but if we cannot get enough staff into school because of where they are travelling from, then the decision is made by the headteacher to close, and the Local Authority are informed. This has happened (very infrequently) in the past because of the snow. In the event of a planned strike where we do not have enough staff to cover classes then generally we are able to give you some advance warning. Sometimes the school site itself is unsafe, or unable to be used, for example if the water is cut off or if the heating has failed, I strongly suggest having a contingency plan agreed with friends or family about what to do in the event of a school closure, to help keep disruption to a minimum.

Term dates 2016 to 2017

Term one

Term time: Monday 5 September to Friday 21 October 2016.

Monday 5 September & Tuesday 6 September – INSET DAY, SCHOOL CLOSED TO PUPILS

Half-term holiday: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October 2016.

Term two

Term time: Monday 31 October to Wednesday 21 December 2016.

Tuesday 20 December & Wednesday 21 December  – INSET DAY, SCHOOL CLOSED TO PUPILS

Christmas and New Year holiday: Thursday 22 December 2016 to Monday 2 January 2017.

Term three

Term time: Tuesday 3 January to Friday 10 February 2017.

Tuesday 3 January – INSET DAY, SCHOOL CLOSED TO PUPILS

Half-term holiday: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February 2017.

Term four

Term time: Monday 20 February to Friday 31 March 2017.

Easter holiday: Monday 3 April to Monday 17 April 2017.

Term five

Term time: Tuesday 18 April to Friday 26 May 2017 (except spring Bank Holiday on 1 May).

Half-term holiday: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June 2017.

Term six

Term time: Monday 5 June to Friday 21 July 2017.