Battery Road, Thamesmead, London SE28 0JN

020 8855 2470

information@discovery.greenwich.sch.uk

 

Attendance

All pupils are expected to be in school, on time, unless they are too unwell, in which case we expect you to telephone the school to let us know the specific reason for absence, or they have an appointment, for which we expect a copy of the letter or card for the file from the doctor or hospital. We do not condone parents taking their children out of school for term time holidays unless it is an absolute emergency. Any term time absence must be requested before the time is taken on the appropriate form from the school office and the headteacher will decide if the absence will be authorised and inform you in writing. Children will be asked to complete work during this time so they do not fall behind in their learning.

Emergency closure policy

If for any reason we have to close the school as an emergency, a notice will be posted on the website under Newsflash on the right hand side, and a text message will be sent to parents saying the school is closed and referring you to the website. We do not make this decision lightly as we realise how disruptive it is for parents, but if we cannot get enough staff into school because of where they are travelling from, then the decision is made by the headteacher to close, and the Local Authority are informed. This has happened (very infrequently) in the past because of the snow. In the event of a planned strike where we do not have enough staff to cover classes then generally we are able to give you some advance warning. Sometimes the school site itself is unsafe, or unable to be used, for example if the water is cut off or if the heating has failed, I strongly suggest having a contingency plan agreed with friends or family about what to do in the event of a school closure, to help keep disruption to a minimum.

Term dates 2018 to 2019

Term one

Term time: Monday 3rd September to Friday 21 December 2018

Monday 3 September & Tuesday 4 September – INSET DAY, SCHOOL CLOSED TO PUPILS.

Half-term holiday: Monday 22 October to Friday 26 October 2018.

 

Christmas Holiday: Monday 24 December to Friday 4 January 2019.

 

Term two

Term time: Monday 7 January to Friday 5 April 2019.

Monday 7 January – INSET DAY, SCHOOL CLOSED TO PUPILS.

Half-term holiday: Monday 18 February to Friday 22 February 2019.

 

Easter Holiday: Monday 8 April to Monday 22 April 2019.

 

Term three

Term time: Tuesday 23 April to Friday 23 July 2019.

Half-term holiday: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May 2019.

Monday 22 July & Tuesday 23 July - INSET DAY, SCHOOL CLOSED TO PUPILS.

 

Summer Holiday Starts: Wednesday 24 July 2019.